Writings and Books . . .

New Poem . . . “Ode to Freedom: Fort Mose”

Ode to Freedom:  Fort Mose

Earl Stewart, Jr.

 

There lies the river

So wide and strong

To where it flows

My heart shall never know.

 

Yet, as I stand

And sing freedom’s song

My wait has been long

For I must go.

 

Just over there

Across the way

There lies a place

From to day to day

 

I dare trust God

In Him I know

I’ll make it home

For I must go.

 

For I must go

To freedom’s land

It’s my time

To take that stand.

 

So close, yet far

Lies my hope

The promised land

For I must go.

 

Battled and bruised

My flesh does proclaim

My soul untouched

My mind the same.

 

I lift my eyes

To hills of glory

They call my name

As I tell the story

 

Of days gone by

Of this I know

My soul’s set free

For I must go.

 

For I must go

To freedom’s land

It’s my time

To take that stand.

 

So close, yet far

Lies my hope

The promised land

For I must go.

I welcome your thoughts . . .

